Winter 10k Training Plan

9 Jan

The St. Patrick’s day 10k is in exactly 10 weeks! I am determined to finish in 1 hour or less this year :) So I created the following plan:
Winter Training Plan pic

My first week isn’t going that well, I’ve had a migraine for the past few days that just won’t leave so I wasn’t able to run 3k  :( but I did manage to walk 3k!

Question: What training programs are you following?

Tina

18 Responses to “Winter 10k Training Plan”

  1. Cubical Panic January 9, 2013 at 11:01 pm #

    3km walk is better than nothing at all :) Even better considering you had a migraine…

  2. Thibodeau Farm January 9, 2013 at 11:23 pm #

    Couch to 5K! Just did the first night last night…hoping/praying it gets easier! Good luck!

    • nicky301 January 10, 2013 at 1:58 am #

      It will get easier…just persevere, and do enough stretching! I noticed a huge difference putting some music on my phone to run with, helps keep your mind focused.

  3. runnergurrl January 10, 2013 at 12:17 am #

    Hope you are better soon. Good job getting out there, migraine and all.

  4. runnergurrl January 10, 2013 at 12:24 am #

    Oh yeah, training program. So far (for 5k and 10k) I just did the fly by the soles of my shoes training plan. I am so not good with a structured plan. I just went by how I felt each day.

    Same goes for my half marathon training. My only real rule in training is that I have to know I can go the distance, so I make sure I can run one mile longer than the race. Has worked so far. I suppose I will have to follow an actual plan if/when I sign up for a
    marathon. Depends on how the 1/2 goes.

    Have fun training!

  5. socalmark January 10, 2013 at 12:50 am #

    Great variety!

  6. nicky301 January 10, 2013 at 1:49 am #

    Couch to 5K, on Week 2! Running my first 5K on March 9, right on schedule, then moving into training for 10K.

  7. Bonnie January 10, 2013 at 2:20 am #

    Sorry you have a migraine! :( Looks like a solid training plan, though. I’m following one of Jenny Hadfield’s half-marathon plans from her website. So far so good.

  8. MaybeMarathoner January 10, 2013 at 2:37 am #

    Hang in there! You are doing great, and walking is better than doing nothing. Hope it passes soon…

  9. ommarathonlawyer January 10, 2013 at 4:07 am #

    I try to follow Hal higdon’s marathon training plan. However – I am training for my 4th marathon (19 days away) and I have learned that the best program is listening to your body. My best races have happened after running based on how I felt. Good luck

  10. Tina January 11, 2013 at 4:41 pm #

    Hal Higdon is great! I used his training plans for my first 10k and Half Marathon. Wow! 4th marathon! You rock! I’m a firm believer in listening to your body and giving it what it wants :) It does know best..lol

Leave a Reply

A Poorly Updated Travel Blog

slowly documenting travel and life

Running Under The Rain

a blog about a runner's life

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

Running On Healthy

Finding Balance, Happiness, and Health

Fit Is a Feminist Issue

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

The Vegan 8

8 Ingredient Vegan Recipes

Poetry In Motion

I'll stand before the Lord of Song / With nothing on my tongue but Hallelujah - Leonard Cohen

ChezSylvia

Where I unload my cooking notes...and other adventures

The Baker's Sheet

The baking and cooking adventures of a wannabe culinary student

high mileage mom

balancing family, fitness, a healthy lifestyle, and of course--running!

