Banana Oatmeal Cookies

6 Jan

3 ripe small bananas (I used organic)
1 1/2 cups gluten free flour
1 3/4 cups oats
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
3/4 cup shortening
1 teaspoon ground flax ( Mix with a tiny bit of water in a small bowl 1st to bring  out the oil in the flax) or you can use an egg.
3/4 cup golden brown sugar
1/4 cup granulated white sugar
1 cup of dairy free chocolate chips (say whaaa?!)

20130105-203243.jpg

Sift all the flour, baking powder, salt, nutmeg and cinnamon into a large bowl.
Combine the sugars, shortening and ground flax in a smaller bowl. I used a fork and smooshed it all around!
Mash up the bananas in a small bowl.
Combine all three bowls into the large dry ingredient bowl and mix together thoroughly. Add in the oatmeal and chocolate chips last, and give it another stir to mix everything in.

This recipe made about 20 cookies, I scooped the dough onto the parchment paper and baked them for around 14-15 minutes @ 400 degrees!

20130105-203201.jpg

I have just been introduced to the concept of using parchment paper. Holy crap! Talk about easy clean up! …. Man am I ever a rookie!

20130105-203143.jpg

I ate all of these cookies between yesterday and today. Its a good thing I forgot to set the timer on the oven and burnt the last batch….

Adam has decided that he is not drinking for 3 months (and I am going to try and do the same), which means I took in the bottles! Apparently….he drinks alot! 45 bucks for me! Hey, if I have to haul around gross old beer bottles, I should get the reward! =P

20130105-203208.jpg

As I write this, I wish I did not burn those last 4 cookies….I could be eating one right now =(

6 Responses to “Banana Oatmeal Cookies”

  1. joemacgown January 6, 2013 at 11:50 pm #

    Those cookies sound great. Did I read that right? about 200 cookies in 2 days? Awesome

    • Jenny January 6, 2013 at 11:57 pm #

      eh, I ate about 11… Burnt 4, gave away 5 and ate the rest. Oddly, I am not ashamed…they were “healthy”….ish

      • joemacgown January 13, 2013 at 3:57 am #

        I am never ashamed about eating good cookies!

  2. runstilettos January 7, 2013 at 1:44 am #

    Are you gluten free too?? Love that I found this blog! :)

    • Jenny January 7, 2013 at 3:08 am #

      I am trying to be gluten free:) so far so good, however I do have my slip ups. I am a sucker for big macs.. It’s been easier since we started blogging, I enjoy reading other blogs that have a gluten free perspective! Ideas for recipes and support is around every corner=) I’ll have to follow your blog too!!

  3. Britta January 7, 2013 at 4:55 am #

    These babies look and sound awesome!! and I love those Enjoy Life mini chips – sooo good! :)

Leave a Reply

A Poorly Updated Travel Blog

slowly documenting travel and life

Running Under The Rain

a blog about a runner's life

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

Running On Healthy

Finding Balance, Happiness, and Health

FIT IS A FEMINIST ISSUE

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

The Vegan 8

8 Ingredient Vegan Recipes

Poetry In Motion

I'll stand before the Lord of Song / With nothing on my tongue but Hallelujah - Leonard Cohen

ChezSylvia

Where I unload my cooking notes...and other adventures

The Baker's Sheet

The baking and cooking adventures of a wannabe culinary student

high mileage mom

balancing family, fitness, a healthy lifestyle, and of course--running!

