Whitemud trail, winter vs. summer

4 Jan

We have MANY trails here in Edmonton, I believe in our river valley there are just as many unpaved trails as there are paved trails! All of which are unique and beautiful in their own way.  One of my favorite trails for a shorter 5km run is down by the Snowvalley Ski Hill. Situated in the river valley, beside one of the busiest highways in Edmonton (the Whitemud). Looking at these pictures you would never think that just a few km’s on either side is either a housing community or a highway!

Here are some pictures I took during the summer months! It was nice running in the valley, because there are so many trees and it makes for a very shady and cool run!

20130104-104050.jpg

20130104-103708.jpg

20130104-103743.jpg

20130104-103844.jpg

Now fast forward 5 months to yesterday! I went for a 5km run down the same path and it was even more beautiful than I could have imagined!

20130104-103913.jpg

20130104-103924.jpg

20130104-103935.jpg

Here I am at the turn around point at the trail, there is this little look out. I stop, take in the scenery, stretch a bit, then turn around to get back to my car.

20130104-103942.jpg

A word to the ladies! Yesterday I took the opportunity to get my hair cut and my eyebrows threaded before my run. I would be lying if I said that my eyebrow area was not burning from the salty sweat pouring down my face! That was a dumb move! I should have waited for the pores to close up before I ran!!

Happy Winter running!

21 Responses to “Whitemud trail, winter vs. summer”

  1. journey2dfuture January 4, 2013 at 8:26 pm #

    Stunning area!

    • Jenny January 5, 2013 at 4:12 am #

      Oh I know! There is so many places like this here… I love it!

  2. Mariajose January 4, 2013 at 10:45 pm #

    It looks really pretty! Why do I not live in a snowy area?! And, you just reminded me I need to thread my brows! and dye my hair! ahh. us women and our maintenance.

    • Jenny January 5, 2013 at 4:11 am #

      I think I have officially given up on dying my hair! It’s way too thick and expensive to get done! I’m surprised you know what threading is… I know one person who gets it done other then myself! I hate waxing, and I always break out ( I think I’m allergic).

      • Mariajose January 5, 2013 at 4:31 am #

        oh yeah. my hair is super thick which means its much harder to keep up with but I don’t like my hair any other color than dark red. and well, ive only threaded my eyebrows once, but I prefer it over waxing because my brows are very thick so it hurts. but I’m thinking of continuing with the threading.

      • Jenny January 5, 2013 at 5:15 pm #

        I waxed for years, and I find threading is far less harsh! It’s for sure the way too go! What color is your hair in your profile pic? I think that color looks good!

      • Mariajose January 6, 2013 at 4:10 am #

        Its a very dark red color. Thanks, I just wanna go one tone down. :)

  3. Lauren January 5, 2013 at 12:10 am #

    Ouch! I’d never have thought of that but you make a very good point.

    You’re better than me re: running after hair cut, though. I can’t be bothered to do anything that’ll mess up my hair after someone else has done it for me! haha.

    Pretty pictures!

    • Jenny January 5, 2013 at 4:14 am #

      Lol, don’t worry about the hair.. It was a $20 supercut special! No styling! I’m cheap!!!
      Thanks! I think they are purdy too=D

  4. willbfit January 5, 2013 at 4:55 am #

    I had my eyebrows threaded about two months ago. They scolded me and told me i over plucked them. She still shaped them for me but told me to stay away from the tweezers to let them fill in. Dint you know it’s been a bit over a month, and I’m walking around with crazy eyebrows!! My right one is not filling in like my left one…one big hairy eyebrow and one scraggly one. I’m about to go have these babies handled!!! lol!! Love your pic!!

    • Jenny January 5, 2013 at 5:07 pm #

      The one time I went to a different salon, I ended up looking like the rock! You know when he does that weird eyebrow thing?! It was like a permanent inquisitive look on my face! One eyebrow up, and one down! I was happy to let that grow out! I thought over plucking was a myth! Hopefully you can get your eyebrows straitened out soon ;) lol

  5. briannbecky98 January 5, 2013 at 3:31 pm #

    Wow, that trail looks awesome! I live in Minnesota, so I know all about the snow, we have tons of trails as well. I tend to stay indoors and run on the treadmill during the cold months, I just admire the beauty of it all looking out the window staying warm, haha.

    • Jenny January 5, 2013 at 5:10 pm #

      You should give running outside a try one of these days during winter:) pick a warmer sunny day! Just once;)

  6. willow212 January 5, 2013 at 8:26 pm #

    That is beautiful, how amazing to have a place like that to run in. I bet it smells fantastic. There is an old railway embankment near here which I will use in the summer (once it’s dried up a bit, more of a swamp right now) but I want those evergreen trees!

    I have the same crazy eyebrow problem as willbfit, I need eyebrow wigs!

    • Jenny January 6, 2013 at 12:11 am #

      Is there a such thing as eyebrow wigs!? That would be awesome! When the salons screw up you could glue a better one on lol. Does the embankment have a bunch of trails?

      • willow212 January 6, 2013 at 7:10 pm #

        It kind of does, there’s some smaller paths and such off the sides, but mostly it goes on northwards past some water meadows around a small river plain. Very pretty. Really hope they do exist (or I’ll have to have a weave lol)

      • Jenny January 6, 2013 at 10:56 pm #

        That sounds pretty! Take some pictures when you run, once the snow melts of course =)
        HAHAHA, you could always try and pencil them in? I know for a while, fake mustaches were a thing for ladies….I think in Europe somewhere.

  7. unsportywomencanrun January 6, 2013 at 9:03 am #

    What a beautiful place to run :)

  8. theillustriousmissindustrious January 8, 2013 at 8:21 pm #

    You’re braver than I! I have yet to run the River Valley trails during the winter. My excuse was that it was too cold, but now it’s not… so maybe it’s time to lace up the outdoor shoes. ;)

    What kind of shoes do you use to run outside? I’m thinking of investing in some good trail running shoes, but I don’t know what’s best for our (unpredictable) weather.

    • Jenny January 9, 2013 at 4:56 am #

      Tina and I both just wear our regular old running shoes, we ran in these babies throughout the summer on every trail basically in our city! I had bought a pair of Asic trail runners in the summer and wore them only once! They were really stiff and non-breathable! My feet were so hot!
      We also do not wear any grips on the bottom, tread lightly and look ahead for ice ;)
      A good pair of wool socks will help keep you feet dry and warm, regardless of temperature. You can enter our give away, as we are giving away 3 sets of Smartwool socks this month!
      I say give it a shot! =)

      • theillustriousmissindustrious January 15, 2013 at 6:57 pm #

        That makes it much easier for me. I ran in trail shoes for a summer and I found them to be rather…clunky. I think I might just have to try the regular running shoe and wool sock combo!

        If I wipe out on the ice, I guess I’ll come home with a bruise and a tale to tell. haha

Leave a Reply

A Poorly Updated Travel Blog

slowly documenting travel and life

Running Under The Rain

a blog about a runner's life

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

Running On Healthy

Finding Balance, Happiness, and Health

Fit Is a Feminist Issue

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

The Vegan 8

8 Ingredient Vegan Recipes

Poetry In Motion

I'll stand before the Lord of Song / With nothing on my tongue but Hallelujah - Leonard Cohen

ChezSylvia

Where I unload my cooking notes...and other adventures

The Baker's Sheet

The baking and cooking adventures of a wannabe culinary student

high mileage mom

balancing family, fitness, a healthy lifestyle, and of course--running!

