Tabata!

3 Jan

The last two Tuesdays have been MAJOR holidays! I promise next week this will be back to regular scheduled blogging!

tabata 4

I hope I have been sort of clear with my tabata workouts, it works like this:
20 seconds exercise a
10 seconds REST
20 seconds exercise b
After that you will repeat a and then b until both exercises have been done 4 times each.
A total of 8 rounds of short intense exercises!

If you do both tabatas, your workout equals around 8-9 minutes! It is intense!

Since there seems to be a lot of new people on here, if you are interested in trying these work outs, you can download a tabata timer app from the app store (free)! Or if you have a stop watch, that could work too ;)

I have no clue why I decided to burn myself out heading into our January challenge. December I went pretty crazy! Especially the last week. My body is shutting down. I am sore, headachy (is that a word?!) and tired! Tonights run was short, 2 km 13 minutes, could not run any further!

Tomorrow is a new day though!

8 Responses to “Tabata!”

  1. bopspeed January 3, 2013 at 4:58 am #

    I tried and managed to complete no. 1 but hadto take longer rest for no. 2. Mainly because I kept moving my neck during the crunches (I knew if I did it wrong it’ll be super risky so I slowed down a bit more). Thanks a mil! What a great short workout ;)

    • Jenny January 3, 2013 at 5:02 am #

      AWESOME JOB!
      I was just introduced to the concept a little while ago, it really is great if you do not have a lot of time or need a pick me up!
      Do not worry about going slow, go at your own pace! Avoiding injury is key when you exercise!

  2. Mariajose January 3, 2013 at 5:46 am #

    Great workout! I downloaded the timer a while back and it works great! :) I actually did a similar workout on New Years Eve right before the partying started. Had to end the year right. Hope you feel better! I’m sure it’s all the Holidays finally tiring us all.

    • Jenny January 3, 2013 at 5:11 pm #

      It is so funny, having “days off” I find I am way more tired then when I actually work! Especially when I have more than a few days off in a row. I am ready to get back to work full time! lol

      • Mariajose January 3, 2013 at 6:50 pm #

        I think it’s just the body’s way of taking advantage lol

      • Jenny January 4, 2013 at 2:28 am #

        Stupid body>.>

  3. runoffwriter January 3, 2013 at 8:03 pm #

    Oh yes…it’s a word.;)

    • Jenny January 3, 2013 at 9:44 pm #

      Probably in the urban dictionary! lol

Leave a Reply

A Poorly Updated Travel Blog

slowly documenting travel and life

Running Under The Rain

a blog about a runner's life

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

Running On Healthy

Finding Balance, Happiness, and Health

Fit Is a Feminist Issue

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

The Vegan 8

8 Ingredient Vegan Recipes

Poetry In Motion

I'll stand before the Lord of Song / With nothing on my tongue but Hallelujah - Leonard Cohen

ChezSylvia

Where I unload my cooking notes...and other adventures

The Baker's Sheet

The baking and cooking adventures of a wannabe culinary student

high mileage mom

balancing family, fitness, a healthy lifestyle, and of course--running!

