Cupcakes on Sunday

30 Dec

Gingerbread Cupcakes

20121230-122055.jpg

Ingredients:
1 1/4 cup all purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
3 teaspoon ground ginger
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon all spice
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1/3 cup molasses
1/2 cup maple syrup
1/4 cup soy milk
2 tablespoons margarine
1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 cup brown sugar

Icing:
1/4 cup shortening
1/4 cup margarine
2 cups powdered sugar
2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Sift in flour, baking powder, baking soda, ground ginger, cinnamon, all spice and salt in bowl and mix. Whisk oil, molasses, syrup, milk and margarine on a separate bowl. Add the wet Ingredients to the flour mixture and stir until smooth. Fold in brown sugar.

20121230-122221.jpg

Fill cupcakes liners two thirds full and bake at 350 for 20 mins. Let cool for and hour before icing. Makes 12 cupcakes.

20121230-122454.jpg
Prepare icing
Cream shortening and margarine with mixer add powder sugar 1/2 cup at a time until smooth. Add vanilla extract and beat for 5 mins till fluffy. Pipe frosting onto cooled cupcakes.

20121230-122724.jpg

9 Responses to “Cupcakes on Sunday”

  1. journey2dfuture December 30, 2012 at 6:31 pm #

    Yum yum yum ! ! I have a serious question.. Might sound utter simple.. But how many grams are in a ‘CUP’ How big is a cup? I’ve looked for cups in the kitchen stores here in Poland but never find anything. :( All the yummy things on the net measure in cups :/ Confused much.

    • Jenny December 30, 2012 at 8:01 pm #

      If you email me your house address, I can MAIL you a measuring cup!!! That is awful!! =/ Then you can make things without having to convert the measurments!
      weshallhavepie@ymail.com
      I am serious too!

      • journey2dfuture December 31, 2012 at 3:06 pm #

        Aww too kind, Thank you. But I searched Ebay and got some from China coming for like $4’s :D ;)

      • Jenny January 1, 2013 at 1:14 am #

        OH! how could I forget about ebay! lol. That’s awesome and super cheap!

    • Kathy December 30, 2012 at 10:07 pm #

      We’ll send her a whole set. Cups & spoons. Lol. My problem is the way around, find recipes with grams, etc., very frustrating. Here’s wp that I always visit to change measurements………….www.dianasdesserts.com
      Find good rcipes there too.

      • Jenny December 30, 2012 at 10:29 pm #

        I was thinking the same thing Kathy! Cups/spoons the whole thing!
        It’s always nice when you can do mindless measuring ;)

  2. Mariajose January 1, 2013 at 11:25 pm #

    I really need to come back to this. This holiday season I did something I’ve never done before. I baked cupcakes, sure they were out of the box but I still had to bake them lol but I really need to start doing this once a month. Or once a week maybe. It’s fun lol and they’re tasty. Very tasty! Happy New Years!

    • Tina January 4, 2013 at 2:28 am #

      I love baking cupcakes! I even have a cupcake apron I wear when I make them lol If you need recipe ideas let me know I have tons!

      • Mariajose January 4, 2013 at 4:10 am #

        that would be awesome! :D

Leave a Reply

A Poorly Updated Travel Blog

slowly documenting travel and life

Running Under The Rain

a blog about a runner's life

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

Running On Healthy

Finding Balance, Happiness, and Health

FIT IS A FEMINIST ISSUE

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

The Vegan 8

8 Ingredient Vegan Recipes

Poetry In Motion

I'll stand before the Lord of Song / With nothing on my tongue but Hallelujah - Leonard Cohen

ChezSylvia

Where I unload my cooking notes...and other adventures

The Baker's Sheet

The baking and cooking adventures of a wannabe culinary student

high mileage mom

balancing family, fitness, a healthy lifestyle, and of course--running!

