Tabata Wednesday

26 Dec

Hi Everyone!

So as I stated on Dec 23 I was going to go for a run outside in the cold, and I did! It was -32 with the wind-chill =S. I swear it was a constant battle of overheating vs. frostbite!

20121226-184810.jpg

This cold snap has been unforgiving around here! Note the frost around my hood!

After my run the morning of Christmas Eve, we decided to take Parker out for a few “surprises”. First we hit up a local leisure center to go skating, then to the indoor play park so Parker could burn off all of his pent up energy from the last few days. He ran and ran for almost 2 hours!! After the play park we went to a restaurant for lunch, and then we were off to see a movie!

Once we were home from the movie, we took a short 2 hour break before we headed off to one of my really good friends house for a Christmas Eve celebration. We did not stay too late (as we had not wrapped any presents yet…) but had tons of fun!

20121226-184741.jpg

20121226-184757.jpg

20121226-184945.jpg

20121226-184955.jpg

Christmas was a Tuesday obviously, and I was supposed to do my “Tababta Tuesday” post! However, I literally did not do A THING! I actually “relaxed” until I started stressing out about the fact we never did plan Christmas dinner.  We did not have much food in the house… This panic led to a Mcdonald’s Christmas dinner…
Big Mac and sweet and sour sauce for the win!

20121226-210959.jpg

It is Boxing day today and it is back to the old exercise grind! I did a 30minute run right after work, even before I got in my car to go home…. And I did this lovely tabata work out on my lunch break!

Boxing Day Tabata:

Tabata Tues

Here are some pictures from my run this afternoon =) It warmed up, only -25….

20121226-184823.jpg

20121226-184832.jpg

20121226-184844.jpg

I hope everyone had an awesome Christmas!!!

 

 

6 Responses to “Tabata Wednesday”

  1. Russell Bradley December 27, 2012 at 9:31 am #

    Your post has me smiling, The pictures of the Snow and the fading light look so desperately inviting, as does the food. God bless you for running in the snow like a crazy woman.
    Rock it Sister.

    • Jenny December 27, 2012 at 8:37 pm #

      I am glad that it could make you smile, I for sure was not smiling most of the run lol.
      The only advantage that running in below -25 has is, when it warms up to -15, it feels like a heat wave ;)
      I must be crazy, most days around where I run there is not another sole in sight!

  2. Russell Bradley December 27, 2012 at 9:34 am #

    Hold on The Broccoli tree deserves a prize , I love broccoli

    • Jenny December 27, 2012 at 8:34 pm #

      It is pretty well the coolest thing I have ever seen!
      I hope most of it got eaten, it would have been a sin to waste all of that broccoli!
      My friend is so talented!

  3. Mariajose December 27, 2012 at 10:57 am #

    My family doesn’t celebrate on Christmas day. We usually just do Christmas Eve until about 2 or 3am and then my boyfriend and I use Christmas Day as an excuse to celebrate 4 years and 10 months. In the past, we tend to eat at the Denny’s nearby since it’s one of the few things that are open but his parents cooked for us and I couldn’t deny his mother’s mashed potatoes. lol
    & hey, it was Christmas. we all have to postpone a workout every once in a while and as long as you did, which you did, you’re good. I’m really liking this tabata workouts, need to start doing them soon. ahh.

    • Jenny December 27, 2012 at 9:12 pm #

      I have never been too or had a Christmas Eve party before!
      When I was growing up the norm was always Christmas day. That is until I stopped being a part of the festivities.
      I think next year we will be a little more prepared in the way of food….even if its homemade burgers or something! Going out and trying to find a place to eat something decent is tough on Christmas day. There was a buffet place that was open on Christmas day by us, but it literally burnt down this Christmas morning!!! We drove by it when we hit up the Mcdonalds!
      I love mashed potatoes! Infact, when I do eat holiday-ish my plate is full of mashed potatoes, stuffing and perogies….maybe a small piece of turkey…

Leave a Reply

A Poorly Updated Travel Blog

slowly documenting travel and life

Running Under The Rain

a blog about a runner's life

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

Running On Healthy

Finding Balance, Happiness, and Health

FIT IS A FEMINIST ISSUE

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

The Vegan 8

8 Ingredient Vegan Recipes

Poetry In Motion

I'll stand before the Lord of Song / With nothing on my tongue but Hallelujah - Leonard Cohen

ChezSylvia

Where I unload my cooking notes...and other adventures

The Baker's Sheet

The baking and cooking adventures of a wannabe culinary student

high mileage mom

balancing family, fitness, a healthy lifestyle, and of course--running!

