Potato Soup and 1st degree burns!

20 Dec

Well I have to be honest, I have never made a really good soup before. My last few attempts at chicken noodle soup ended up to be a square gelatin block in a Tupperware container in the fridge.

Today was different! I tried out a Potato and broccoli soup and it actually tasted good!

2 white carrots
3 medium sized potato’s
1 medium onion
1 bunch of broccoli
Fresh Dill
4 cups stock (I used chicken)
2 cups water
Olive oil

Cover the bottom of the pot with oil and warm it up.
Chop up the carrots, onion, potato and the broccoli stalks, place these vegetables in the pot and cook them for around 4-5 minutes in the oil. Stirring often.

Once your onions are clear, add in the water/stock and simmer for 15 minutes. The vegetables should be soft by then.

Place the soup (you can do it little by little) in either a blender or a food processor and blend it until everything is smooth.

Place the blended soup back into the pot and add the broccoli florets and fresh dill on top. Cook until the broccoli is bright green and tender.

I have never had any other color of carrot before, I thought these white ones were so neat! Organic box totally surprised me with “rainbow carrots”.


20121219-202301.jpg

20121219-202308.jpg

20121219-202319.jpg

20121219-202332.jpg

Note to self, do NOT use a plate to cover the top of the blender anymore. It is pure laziness on my part, my boyfriend always makes fun of me for doing this too… The one time it fails happens to be with HOT SOUP! Splashed only on me and the counter….

20121219-202352.jpg

I should have cut my broccoli florets into smaller pieces…. But I was already annoyed at this point because of my burn…so I did not do that.

20121219-202340.jpg

After 2 bowls of super delicious soup, I went downstairs to do a 15minute Turbo Fire HIIT video to warm up for my run. I quickly changed and checked the weather…yuck.

20121219-202346.jpg

This time I dressed appropriately for the weather with regards to my core, however I forgot my ski pants at school…. and my legs paid the ultimate price!

3.5km and I was so ready for some water and a snack!

Now to watch some Mankind: The History of us All! Recorded from Monday!!

Goodnight!

OH! BTW! Tina has left for Ontario *tear* she is going to try and blog from her phone while she is visiting with her family! She will return January 30th, just in time to get ready for our Resolution run Jan 1st!

6 Responses to “Potato Soup and 1st degree burns!”

  1. journey2dfuture December 20, 2012 at 9:00 pm #

    Soup sounds yum! I may give this a try.

    • Jenny December 21, 2012 at 2:17 am #

      You know I thought it was way better today, the dill settled in and there was a subtle dill flavor and it was fantastic!

  2. Liz from FitSmarty December 21, 2012 at 6:03 pm #

    It seems like a good soup :)
    Way better than my “paella” which I tried to cook, but even my dog did not eat it in the end..

    • Jenny December 22, 2012 at 12:34 am #

      Lol, I can relate to making food not even good enough for animals. Seriously it’s happened a few times. I feel like I am finally getting better at making meals!

  3. Chico December 23, 2012 at 5:38 pm #

    Great recipe! Although, I probably would have taken a different tact with the spicing. Garlic, mustard, scallions, Old Bay seasoning, cumin, chili powder, black pepper, cayenne pepper, and tarragon all come to mind as possible additions (not all together mind you ;-) )

    • Jenny December 23, 2012 at 8:29 pm #

      Thanks!=)
      OH I am sure it could have been way tastier with spices, but an inexperienced cook like me stays away from experimenting the first time around!

Leave a Reply

A Poorly Updated Travel Blog

slowly documenting travel and life

Running Under The Rain

a blog about a runner's life

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

Running On Healthy

Finding Balance, Happiness, and Health

Fit Is a Feminist Issue

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

The Vegan 8

8 Ingredient Vegan Recipes

Poetry In Motion

I'll stand before the Lord of Song / With nothing on my tongue but Hallelujah - Leonard Cohen

ChezSylvia

Where I unload my cooking notes...and other adventures

The Baker's Sheet

The baking and cooking adventures of a wannabe culinary student

high mileage mom

balancing family, fitness, a healthy lifestyle, and of course--running!

