A Productive Saturday

16 Dec

Today has been a busy day, I visited with my brother, hit up the mall to pick up the remainder of the Christmas gifts and did a couple loads of laundry. I put a good dent in my do list and my stress meter has gone down a couple decimals.

After I returned from my errands Ivan and I hit up the trails for a nice 5k run and I got try out the La Sportiva Raptor Trail Running Shoes I picked up on Sale at MEC the other day.

La Sportiva

They were a little stiffer than I like but they gripped the snow like you wouldn’t believe. Look forward to a detailed review on them soon.

Have you heard of Songza? A few coworkers told me about the free app for the iphone the other day and I tried it out on my run today. If you don’t have it already I strongly recommend getting it! It has every type of playlist you can think of! They even had a hang over list. You can also search by artist and song titles. I listened to the “ Drop a beat Workout playlist” and I didn’t want to stop running I enjoyed is so much!

***************************************************************************

So today is my last day of my Vegan 30 day Challenge! I can’t believe I did it! I haven’t done the best job of updating the blog daily so I made another collage:

Vegan Challenge Roundup

It was a tough 30 days, I craved cheese and yogurt daily and it was hard to dine out . I did have fun trying out new recipes and veggie products, I would incorporate going vegan a couple days a week going forward.

Question: What apps do you use when you workout?

Tina

15 Responses to “A Productive Saturday”

  1. ommarathonlawyer December 16, 2012 at 2:51 am #

    Thanks for sharing the songza app, I use nike+ app to track my runs as well as pandora. We have not had any snow in the Chicago area, I’m ok with that, so my saucony running shoes have worked so far. Thanks for sharing!

    • Tina December 17, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

      I use Nike+App too, I love it! I Haven’t heard of pandora, I will have to check that out. Thanks for the comment!

  2. Mariajose December 16, 2012 at 6:04 am #

    I tend to use Pandora for music on my runs. However, sometimes it’s hard to find a good workout playlist to come out. Already wrote down the name of the app you’re recommending so I can download it when I get home in the morning.
    As for the vegan challenge, way to go! I did a vegetarian challenge last year when I first started my weight loss adventures. I lost a lot of weight but most of all I felt like I had cleansed my body.

    • Tina December 17, 2012 at 5:29 pm #

      Everyone seems to be using this Pandora App! I’ll have to get with the program and download it..lol

      • Mariajose December 17, 2012 at 7:23 pm #

        I downloaded Songza last night. I’m going to use it during todays run. I’m a bit nervous though because it seems that the only station I like is the Rock & Run so far. The 90 bpm running playlist is a bit too ghetto :/

      • Tina December 17, 2012 at 8:42 pm #

        OMG they have BPM playlists! I didn’t even know that I was going off the concierge recommendations…lol I just skip thru the ghetto stuff, I’m more of a pop/alternative rock kinda girl.

      • Mariajose December 17, 2012 at 10:00 pm #

        lol they seem to only have 1 bpm playlist

  3. willbfit December 16, 2012 at 2:40 pm #

    I use running mixes from RockMyRun.com. You get one free credit when you first register, and at the beginning of every month. You can buy credits, too. I LOVE their running mixes which cover almost every genre, HIPHOP/RAP, Christian Rock, Country, Pop, Dubstep, House, Classic Rock, Bighair Rock (like Poison, BonJovi, etc.). Oh, and I just found a Nike training app called NTC. It has different Tabata style (or similar) workouts, and provides different levels of experience. I haven’t tried it out yet, but it was free from the Android Market. I think I read in the comments of the Playstore that there is an Iphone version, too. I can’t wait to use it!

    • Tina December 17, 2012 at 5:30 pm #

      OOoo I like the sound of that RockMyRun.com, that is right up my alley. Thanks for sharing :)

  4. runoffwriter December 16, 2012 at 2:48 pm #

    Thx for this post!! I use my couch to 5k app and RunKeeper- both free and allow me to use my own iPod playlists within the apps. RunKeeper also has a full online program which keeps track of all my activities, milestones, upcoming races, fitness goals, etc. I love it!! But I’m excited to try out all the apps I’m learning abt in your post and in the comments!!

    • Tina December 17, 2012 at 5:37 pm #

      I’ve been using smartcoach for all my training plans, I’ll have to check out RunKeeper too! Thanks for the ideas!

  5. Owen Richardson December 16, 2012 at 7:19 pm #

    I blogged on this (titled my fitness architecture). I use Runtastic – Runkeeper is awesome, and has a similar feature set but for me runtastic has the edge over it because it integrates with myfitnesspal – which i use for tracking weight, food, and exercise. The geeky part of me even brought bathroom scales that automatically update myfitnesspal. of course knowing your calorie intake isn’t always a good thing, but what can i say, i like the pretty graphs.

    • Tina December 17, 2012 at 5:38 pm #

      I love graphs too! Thanks for the tip!

  6. lehorse December 17, 2012 at 9:32 am #

    Nice shoes and thanks for the Songza tip wil have a look at that.

  7. Jenny December 18, 2012 at 2:04 am #

    You crazy people and your 3G networks! …. Or maybe I am just jealous that I am far too cheap to pay for a data plan! I have to rotate the same 500 songs over and over lol. These apps make me want to upgrade my plan!!

Leave a Reply

A Poorly Updated Travel Blog

slowly documenting travel and life

Running Under The Rain

a blog about a runner's life

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

Running On Healthy

Finding Balance, Happiness, and Health

Fit Is a Feminist Issue

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

The Vegan 8

8 Ingredient Vegan Recipes

Poetry In Motion

I'll stand before the Lord of Song / With nothing on my tongue but Hallelujah - Leonard Cohen

ChezSylvia

Where I unload my cooking notes...and other adventures

The Baker's Sheet

The baking and cooking adventures of a wannabe culinary student

high mileage mom

balancing family, fitness, a healthy lifestyle, and of course--running!

