I have big girl panties too!

10 Dec

I sure needed this poster this evening!

20121209-214335.jpg

Earlier on in the day, I had got all ready to go for a run before work (with my new gear teehehehe).  However, due to road conditions I ended up running behind so I had to skip my run.  I had promised myself I would do it later on once Parker was in bed!

20121209-214921.jpg

After work my coworkers and I went to Red Robins for dinner! I ate a lettuce wrapped whiskey river BBQ burger with yam fries! and we also shared this MASSIVE ice cream cake thing(between 4 of us)!

20121209-215800.jpg20121209-215826.jpg

So 9pm rolls around, and I check the weather…..Well tried too! It was “loading for 3 minutes. I figured it was about -15*C outside.

20121209-214243.jpg

I did not want to go!!!!  Mankind:History of all of us was on the History channel and I love that show! But I got Adam to record it for me while I was out.

20121209-214309.jpg

It was snowing, and the ground was slippery!

20121209-214253.jpg

I was pretty happy with my short run! 3.5 km in 21 minutes! Even more happy that I could catch up with that show!

20121209-214320.jpg

My legs were a tad bit wind burnt! I did not feel it so much when I was running, but when I got inside I could feel them “thawing” …lol..gross. I am thinking I should have worn my light ski pants instead with the wind!

20121209-214329.jpg

My brand new SmartWool socks were AMAZING! My feet were so comfortable!! Not too hot, and not cold at all! They stayed warm and dry my entire run. It literally felt like heaven in my shoes! I need a BILLION more pairs!

20121209-214345.jpg

Goodnight!

Jenny

30 Responses to “I have big girl panties too!”

  1. runoffwriter December 10, 2012 at 6:54 am #

    SmartWools are the best. And I. LOVE. RED. ROBIN. I would eat everything you pictured here twice right now if somebody put it in front of me. The snow is beautiful- glad you got to be out in it (near frostbite notwithstanding)!

    • Jenny December 10, 2012 at 4:25 pm #

      I literally crave Red Robin at times. In the city, I think its the best bang for your buck! The most delicious and filling burger around with all you can eat fries!!! Have you tried thier burgers lettuce wrapped??
      I am thinking that Smartwools may just be our next giveaway!! I can not believe how wonderful they are!!!!!

      • runoffwriter December 10, 2012 at 5:12 pm #

        Never tried the lettuce but when I was reading your post I actually thought to myself, “I’ll have to try that, it sounds REALLY good” lol:)

      • Jenny December 10, 2012 at 6:29 pm #

        DO IT! I promise you wont be dissapointed!

      • runoffwriter December 10, 2012 at 8:35 pm #

        LOL I will…any excuse to hit RR is good enough for me:)

  2. Mileage Mama December 10, 2012 at 12:56 pm #

    Jealous! I can’t wait for snow, and we haven’t had any yet.

    • Jenny December 10, 2012 at 4:25 pm #

      Where do you live?=)
      We have had snow for about a month now! I am thinking that its here to stay until May!

  3. Britta December 10, 2012 at 2:53 pm #

    Oh man, you just motivated ME! It snowed last night in Ottawa and I am supposed to go for a run in about 30min… but I just don’t wanna!!!! I will, but I DONT want to! So hard when it’s cozy inside and freezing outside!

    • Jenny December 10, 2012 at 4:20 pm #

      Do you blog about your winter runs?? I checked your blog to see if you wrote about it ;)
      Our house is always 23degrees or warmer!! So Its summer all year round inside lol.
      The hardest part is always getting motivated to leave, cuz once you start moving its not SO bad!
      It was a pain because there was about an inch of fresh snow everywhere!!
      I am glad that I could motivate you!!

      • Britta December 10, 2012 at 10:46 pm #

        I do and dont blog about them.. I blog that its snowing and that I run in snow but I dont go into the nitty gritty details.. but maybe I should. Or at least be more specific about them!

        Ugh, I hear ya..getting out there is the hardest part! I’m moving to Victoria, BC in January so there will be no more snow to run in, which I am happy about.. also kind of sad because I love snow (when not running!).

      • Jenny December 11, 2012 at 12:15 am #

        Your moving to Victoria…are you retiring? lol.
        No but seriously, that’s awesome! I would give my left arm to live somewhere warmer, but its not in the cards for me right now.
        I love reading about people suffering in the snow, it motivates me too! hahah

  4. Mariajose December 10, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

    I’d love for the chance to run at least once in the snow. Darn Miami.
    But this poster would’ve worked wonders last night for me too. All I wanted to do was take a nice hot bath and go back to bed. But somehow I managed to head out far from my house so that I could go run and wasn’t able to make it back home unless I finished my run.

    • Jenny December 10, 2012 at 4:27 pm #

      Good stuff MJ!!!
      How far was your run?? Did you get to take a bubble bath after??
      I am telling you, I will seriously switch you houses for a day!

      • Mariajose December 10, 2012 at 6:14 pm #

        It was 4 mi. I ran really easy and walked a lot when I felt like I was going to get too tired. I was getting sick so I didn’t want to stress my body too much either.

        And no bubble bath, but I did take a shower and laid in bed till I fell asleep.

        Haha, if only! :)

      • Jenny December 10, 2012 at 6:28 pm #

        4miles is good!!! I have to up my miles a bit too, but its tough with all the snow. Thats good that you know when to take it easy, I am not that bright! I usually still work out when I am sick and even extremely tired.
        I havent had a good bubble bath in a while! … I think I will make that a goal this week! lol.

      • Mariajose December 10, 2012 at 6:51 pm #

        Up your miles by at least 10% and make the bubble bath your reward! :)

      • Jenny December 10, 2012 at 6:55 pm #

        Will do mildew! =)!

  5. Megan December 10, 2012 at 8:38 pm #

    Good job getting out there!! I rarely make it out after dark. I totally know that thaw feeling too, it’s like when you are running they are just kinda there and then when you come inside its all, hmmm why my legs bright red?!? WHY CAN’T I FEEL THEM. Good work!

    • Jenny December 11, 2012 at 12:10 am #

      Its only light here for 10 hours! lol…if that!!
      I find running in the dark more peaceful, because no one is out! I just do not wear headphones because that can be a little scary ;)
      That thaw feeling is so awful sometimes, I find it really hard to warm up after that!

  6. mostlyfitmom December 11, 2012 at 3:01 pm #

    I always hear that Smart Wool socks are amazing, but wool makes be SO itchy, I hesitate to try any even though I’ve been told that they aren’t scratchy.

    • Jenny December 11, 2012 at 5:19 pm #

      Wool and I have a horrible relationship! I get itchy and red, but I did not even notice at all that they were any other material than something sent from heaven…lol.

  7. Jacinda Cote December 11, 2012 at 5:42 pm #

    I LOVE that poster!!! It’s what I need too!!!

    • periwinklepixies December 11, 2012 at 5:45 pm #

      Me again!!! :) just trying something out…

      • Jenny December 11, 2012 at 6:30 pm #

        Did it work?? ;)

  8. tatyadevotchka December 31, 2012 at 6:04 pm #

    Girl you are brave! I’d be sleeping next to a heater covered in fleece! Haha . Kudos !

    • Jenny January 1, 2013 at 1:25 am #

      Not brave, just crazy! During our cold snap, In 2 weeks I did not see a single sole out running while I was out. But trust me, after my runs I was curled up with a hot drink under some fleece! hahah

  9. healthygirl January 1, 2013 at 7:58 am #

    That’s awesome you got your run in. You weren’t nervous running at night? I would run alittle bit in the summer but not often. I haven’t gotten to that desire. I think as I lose more weight, running becomes easier. In Chicago, we haven’t gotten a lot of snow. I wished we would cause I could work out by shoveling. Happy New Year to you.

    • Jenny January 2, 2013 at 3:45 am #

      I was saying before, during our winters where we live..there is only 10 hours of daylight! 7am-5pm! I most often run after 5pm, and even more often have to save those runs until my son is in bed at 8:30pm! I am only ever afraid if I watch a scary movie (which I do not do anymore really). I am okay with it because where I run is very well lit, and in what I guess you can consider a “safer” neighborhood. There are many stores along my route as well.
      I do not mind shoveling..but I have lost my winter boots!!! If I am not running, or walking briskly I can not stand having to stand in one place or move slowly in the snow, its too cold in runners…hahah…So I have not done too much shoveling as of late!
      Running becomes easier the more you do it, being lighter is really irrelevant . I had people, for example today, blowing by me in our 5km…and they were a little or some a lot more heavy set than me! I couldn’t keep up with them! I bet they run almost everyday!!

  10. Robin C January 3, 2013 at 9:30 pm #

    Oh man, I love me some Red Robin (specially their bottomless sweet potato fries!)

    • Jenny January 3, 2013 at 9:37 pm #

      BEST RESTAURANT EVER!
      I did not even know the sweet potato fries were bottomless until I asked, I had assumed not because you have to pay extra for them! It has changed my life…

Leave a Reply

A Poorly Updated Travel Blog

slowly documenting travel and life

Running Under The Rain

a blog about a runner's life

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

Running On Healthy

Finding Balance, Happiness, and Health

FIT IS A FEMINIST ISSUE

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

The Vegan 8

8 Ingredient Vegan Recipes

Poetry In Motion

I'll stand before the Lord of Song / With nothing on my tongue but Hallelujah - Leonard Cohen

ChezSylvia

Where I unload my cooking notes...and other adventures

The Baker's Sheet

The baking and cooking adventures of a wannabe culinary student

high mileage mom

balancing family, fitness, a healthy lifestyle, and of course--running!

