Tabata?

7 Dec

If you do know know what the title means, you are not alone! I had no clue that this was a type of exercise routine that could be planned out to your exact liking and time schedule! Thanks to a few readers (pursuit of happieness and MJ Runs ) they have given me some great insight on how to mix things up!

Tonight was my first go around at this, and I have to admit it was not easy! 50 seconds exercise then 10 seconds “rest” is hardly enough time to get onto the floor or stand up to change what exercise you are doing!

Tonight’s Tabata work out:

20121206-222142.jpg

Another reader whom I have added to Facebook (check out her blog here) liked this on a page! and I really wanted to share it with everyone!!!

20121206-222130.jpg

I have to admit, I never…ever in my life thought that I would blog about anything. I am not a fan of writing or public speaking, but I have been enjoying connecting with so many people that have similar interests! Thank you blogging community for connecting with us here, and helping us with our fitness journeys! All of you have made this experience a very positive one so far!!!

Goodnight!

Jenny

13 Responses to “Tabata?”

  1. Mariajose December 7, 2012 at 6:04 am #

    Hey! Thanks for mentioning me in your post!
    And wow! Just wow! If I was to make my own tabata workout it would certainly not be this. I’d die! Haha. Maybe in May when I finally lose these last 40lbs! But wow. That workout looked hard!
    When I did crossfit, I always thought they were crazy not realizing that the rest time just wasn’t enough. But you definitely felt it.
    How did you manage to do plyo and burpees in this? Goodness woman, you’re brave!

    • Jenny December 7, 2012 at 5:21 pm #

      I have no clue how I got through it, my body is absolutley killing me today (my calves inparticular). I am walking slow and funny….
      You could change it up to be a bit easier! But it was fun making my “own program”. My boyfriend said that he wants to get a white board and put it up on the wall so we can keep track of workouts and records! Basically to reduce paper waste!
      He also doesnt work out, but is entertaining the idea of doing it for a while! I hope he jumps on board with me!
      Thanks for the props!! =) You can do it too, if its really hard just do it for 2 rounds (20min)!

      • Mariajose December 7, 2012 at 6:53 pm #

        Hope he does! And I usually do the ab ones. lol :)

      • Jenny December 7, 2012 at 7:00 pm #

        I am going to try out that Youtube link you sent me tomorrow morning!!!!
        I hope he does too!! It would push me even more, because I am too lazy to keep changing the weights on the home gym! He uses far more heavier weights than I do =)

      • Mariajose December 7, 2012 at 7:10 pm #

        Suggest he works out three times a week this month to prevent the weight gain! that would make me run in an instant haha

      • Jenny December 8, 2012 at 2:40 am #

        Haha, well he has gained like 5pounds in the 5 plus years we have been together…. considering he eats white bread, processed meat and mainly drinks beer and pop I think he is not too worried about weight gain lol. He mainly just wants to get back into hockey I think! Oh only if we could all have his metabolism lol!!

      • Mariajose December 8, 2012 at 4:14 am #

        Ahh! Lucky him!

  2. blood, sweat, and... December 7, 2012 at 4:54 pm #

    That’s a great quote! I actually wrote that on a friend of mine’s fb post. We were talking about how hard it was to run our streak. It goes with everything else in life too.

    That’s a helluva workout too!

    • Jenny December 7, 2012 at 6:49 pm #

      I just know know far too many people that express wanting to change, and then ask for my help…Only to become offended when I ask how things are going, They tell me that I dont understand their situation, how hard it is to change and how little time they have. I get all of those things, but becasue I have the will power to do it, that where their dislike for me comes from. It’s so refreshing to talk to people who are doing something about their health and confident enough to share thier stories and wisdom with others who are likeminded or looking for support. Sorry for the rant!
      That work out was hard, you should give it a try! ;)

      • blood, sweat, and... December 7, 2012 at 7:01 pm #

        I totally agree!

      • Jenny December 7, 2012 at 8:57 pm #

        I just realized that the response was very long winded without alot of punctuation. This is how passionate I am about the whole thing…lol.

  3. pursuitofhappieness December 7, 2012 at 6:11 pm #

    Awesome quote and awesome workout! And kudos to a supportive and enthusiastic bf :)

    • Jenny December 7, 2012 at 8:27 pm #

      Thank you and thank you!!!
      He really is a supportive bf!! He has supported me since day 1 of my fitness journey! I am very lucky!

Leave a Reply

A Poorly Updated Travel Blog

slowly documenting travel and life

Running Under The Rain

a blog about a runner's life

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

Running On Healthy

Finding Balance, Happiness, and Health

Fit Is a Feminist Issue

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

The Vegan 8

8 Ingredient Vegan Recipes

Poetry In Motion

I'll stand before the Lord of Song / With nothing on my tongue but Hallelujah - Leonard Cohen

ChezSylvia

Where I unload my cooking notes...and other adventures

The Baker's Sheet

The baking and cooking adventures of a wannabe culinary student

high mileage mom

balancing family, fitness, a healthy lifestyle, and of course--running!

