Aquathlon

6 Dec

Guess who signed up for her first Aquathlon? I did!!!!!

I thought it would be a great way to start transitioning into Triathlon training and I have no races lined up for the month of February. If your wondering what a Aquathlon is:

“ It’s a two staged race involving swimming followed by running”

I will have to swim 500 meters and run 3 kilometers, I have no problem running that distance but I haven’t swam competitively in years! I have three months to prepare for this race that’s loads of time right?

Dinner:

dinner dec5

Roasted Zucchini, onion and bell peppers

Workout:

I hit the track with Jenny tonight and our workout consisted of:

winter3

Question: Have you competed in an Aquathlon or Triathlon? Do you have any tips for a beginner?

Tina

9 Responses to “Aquathlon”

  1. Runventure December 6, 2012 at 5:54 pm #

    That sounds like so much fun! Have a great time and I’ll appreciate hearing about your training! Swimming events totally inimidate me.

    • Tina December 6, 2012 at 7:15 pm #

      Not going to lie, but the thought of 50 or more people all swimming at once is freaking me out a little…lol Thanks so much for the comment!

      • Runventure December 9, 2012 at 6:27 pm #

        The logistics of that do sound a bit nightmare-ish but I’m sure the confidence will come as you train. :)

  2. Jenny December 6, 2012 at 6:07 pm #

    So proud of you Tina! Now…if only I knew how to swim, I would be right there with you!!!…Instead, I will be your cheerleader and photographer!!! =)

    • runoffwriter December 6, 2012 at 6:37 pm #

      Seconded….I am quite certain I would drown at such an event, but good for you, Tina!! Go for it!

      • Tina December 6, 2012 at 7:17 pm #

        Thanks for the support!

    • Tina December 6, 2012 at 7:16 pm #

      Thanks Jenny, your the best!

  3. blessedwiththunderthighs December 6, 2012 at 9:15 pm #

    You’re so brave! I’m kind of scared of open water swimming, so I don’t think I could do what you’re doing. I might possibly do a duathlon one day (even though I’m not that good at biking, either). If not, I’ll just stick with running :)

    • Jenny December 7, 2012 at 1:17 am #

      I am right there with you! A dualthlon is something that I would do! Biking is not a strength of mine, but building endurance for biking is a lot easier for me than learning how to swim=)

Leave a Reply

A Poorly Updated Travel Blog

slowly documenting travel and life

Running Under The Rain

a blog about a runner's life

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

Running On Healthy

Finding Balance, Happiness, and Health

Fit Is a Feminist Issue

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

The Vegan 8

8 Ingredient Vegan Recipes

Poetry In Motion

I'll stand before the Lord of Song / With nothing on my tongue but Hallelujah - Leonard Cohen

ChezSylvia

Where I unload my cooking notes...and other adventures

The Baker's Sheet

The baking and cooking adventures of a wannabe culinary student

high mileage mom

balancing family, fitness, a healthy lifestyle, and of course--running!

