Lettuce Wrap FAIL!

4 Dec

So yesterday I was seriously craving a homemade burger!

I am not too complicated when it comes to cooking, and most definitely not when I am hungry!

After my 8 hour shift on a Sunday, I booked it home and threw together these burgers:

1.5 pound lean ground beef

1/4 finely chopped onion

1 minced clove of garlic

Handful of chopped up chives

1 egg

1 Tsp of gluten-free flour

Salt and pepper to your liking

See not overly complicated! …Not as flavorful as it could be but to hungry to experiment!

I also caramelized some onions! Heat on low-medium covered in a bit of oil and a sprinkle of sugar.

20121203-222040.jpg

Instead of a bun I used lettuce. This was my first attempt at a lettuce wrapped burger, and I honestly had no clue what I was doing. I basically just ate it with a fork and knife, tasted the same to me! lol =)

20121203-222031.jpgAll and all it was a successful burger I must say! I really wanted mustard, however, because I am the only person in the house who eats it…It was expired! I think it was the same mustard I used to take this picture:Mustard

This was Parker at just over a year, he is now 3.

Okay maybe it was not that old, but I can’t use it fast enough!

Goodnight!

Jenny

 

3 Responses to “Lettuce Wrap FAIL!”

  1. pursuitofhappieness December 4, 2012 at 4:38 pm #

    This made me chuckle! Thanks :)

    • Jenny December 4, 2012 at 4:54 pm #

      Glad I could make you smile! My kid plays with things that are unconventional at times, and that picture was the first thing I thought of when I saw that the stupid mustard was expired! lol

  2. Mariajose December 5, 2012 at 5:16 am #

    That’s an awesome idea! My mom went out of the country for a week, so I’m the one who’s cooking for my dad and since I bought groceries, he can’t go out and buy food anywhere because I already wasted the money. So, now he’s forced to eat much healthier (specially since I refuse to deep fry bacon for him) and this seems like a great thing to have for lunch this week! :)

Leave a Reply

A Poorly Updated Travel Blog

slowly documenting travel and life

Running Under The Rain

a blog about a runner's life

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

Running On Healthy

Finding Balance, Happiness, and Health

Fit Is a Feminist Issue

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

The Vegan 8

8 Ingredient Vegan Recipes

Poetry In Motion

I'll stand before the Lord of Song / With nothing on my tongue but Hallelujah - Leonard Cohen

ChezSylvia

Where I unload my cooking notes...and other adventures

The Baker's Sheet

The baking and cooking adventures of a wannabe culinary student

high mileage mom

balancing family, fitness, a healthy lifestyle, and of course--running!

