Sweaty Mess

3 Dec

Well I used to be a sweaty mess! I used to sweat a ton when I worked out!!

I was chatting with MariaJose a bit, and I was saying that I really think my problem is that I am don’t know what my target heart rate is anymore.

The thing with working out for so long is that your body becomes accustomed to certain exersices and after a while it no longer responds the way you want it too. Unless of course you are constantly changing things up and challenging yourself.

I have become comfortable with my routines and work out videos, they still feel challenging at times when I rotate them…But I noticed I am not nearly as sweaty as I used to be!

Over the next few weeks to make the Christmas waistline challenge more interesting for me, I am going to “change it up” to see if I can get the sweat ball rolling again! I hope I don’t wussy out lol.

sweat

How am I going to achieve this? Crank up the beats and challenge myself to take a step out of my comfort zone… maybe even 2 or 3 steps! Somethings gotta give eventually, right?

24 Responses to “Sweaty Mess”

  1. Elaine Ori December 3, 2012 at 7:46 pm #

    You got it: up the ante. Even if your ‘regular’ stuff still pushes you, your body has adapted to those movements. New routine every 4-6 weeks will keep your hearth and muscles guessing and keep you ‘sweating’.

    … on that note, it’s about time I changed things up too!

    • Jenny December 3, 2012 at 7:51 pm #

      We can do it together! lol. It so easy to keep your same routine, its familar and comforting in a way (been doing the same things for 3 years now basically). I get nervous when I think about doing something different, but I know it won’t help me achieve my goals in the long run. So here is to a brand new adventure with some(bound to be)slip ups along the way! *cheers* =)

  2. Mariajose December 3, 2012 at 10:36 pm #

    I love it! 1) You mentioned me in your blog (whoopee!) and 2) Who doesn’t love challenges?! I’m going to be posting the workouts with my trainer on my blog from now on. I’m not sure how in shape you are but you are more than welcome to try those out for an extra challenge. My strength workout took 30 minutes and then I did a 30 min run. I was so dead I am still feeling Saturdays workout. Check out the workout here & let me know if you feel dead afterwards too. http://mjruns.wordpress.com/2012/12/03/can-you-lend-me-an-arm-pretty-please/

    • Jenny December 4, 2012 at 12:08 am #

      Of course! You totally reminded me I need to step it up! lol.
      Thanks for posting your workouts, I will give some a try for sure! I just checked out your last post, and it looks like alot of the stuff I do already, but more reps! I have all the equipment at home to do this so I will be trying it out when I have a moment at home and report back to you!!!

  3. runoffwriter December 4, 2012 at 5:13 am #

    Hey Jenny…thanks for the follow! Funny you mentioned this topic…earlier this week I took a much hillier route than usual but kept my normal pace- actually, faster than what’s been normal for me lately- and for the first time since I started running two months ago I thought I might throw up. The next day I was sore even in my abs (not seriously so, though, so I know I didn’t push too hard), so I knew I’d really pushed myself, which meant progress, and that was very satisfying! Best wishes on your challenge!!

  4. Mileage Mama December 4, 2012 at 3:05 pm #

    I know what you mean! Twice in the past few weeks I popped in some workout DVD’s that haven’t seen much action lately. I know they used to really push me, but I found myself having to add in extra plyo or resistance to try to intensify a lot of the moves. Really makes me realize how much aerobic conditioning my summer race training provided.

    Of course, today I’m going to do a Jillian Michaels workout, so I’m sure I will be sufficiently humbled!

    • Jenny December 4, 2012 at 4:19 pm #

      Is’nt that crazy? Running does wonders for your cardio vascular system!
      Are you still going to be running during the winter?
      Jillian Micheals is my go to girl for DVD’s and I gotta be honest, they are becoming easy for me. I think I have to pick up some 10pound weights!! However for my challenge I am going to be using my home gym and working different muscle groups that I am not used too. =)

      • Mileage Mama December 4, 2012 at 7:41 pm #

        Yes, I am trying to keep up with at least some running through the winter. I have hopes of doing a half marathon in the spring, so that’s extra motivation! It is hard, because it’s not really safe to run in the dark where I live, and of course winter weather is always a challenge. But I’m planning to keep up with 2-3 days of running per week, even if one has to be on the dread-mill.

        I did 30 Day Shred, level 2, and some of the moves are still pretty challenging for me. Squat thrusts, plank jacks … lots of sweat! I can’t imagine using 10 pounds for that workout, I’m using 5 right now, but just barely.

      • Jenny December 5, 2012 at 5:10 am #

        Yeah, running in the dark can be dangerous! Luckily I have moved out of the ‘hood’ and now live somewhere that I feel comfortable running in the dark. I just make sure I am alert and also steer clear of wearing headphones=)
        Keep up with the 30 Day Shred! Believe it or not, Level 1 is the more challenging for me =/. I love level 3! Things have to be fast for me to keep interest in them or I get super bored.
        I keep wanting to get Insanity, I hear its pretty crazy!

  5. pursuitofhappieness December 4, 2012 at 4:40 pm #

    Have you tried Tabata workouts? I find I am a hot mess whenever I do one. It really shocks your body if it it used to a routine. The trick is to really work hard for the ‘go’ sets, and you feel really awesome when you are done!

    • Jenny December 4, 2012 at 4:58 pm #

      Tabata workouts?
      Sounds interesting! Where do you find these? Is it a DVD or a plan??

      • Mariajose December 5, 2012 at 5:20 am #

        Tabata’s are awesome! I used to do them at least once a week during our Crossfit WODs. I found this one online for you: http://tabataexercise.com/crossfit-tabata-this-wod/

      • Jenny December 5, 2012 at 5:22 pm #

        Whoah!
        How many pull ups can you do? I literally can do zero! I wonder if I can subsitute the pull ups for the pull down bar on my home gym?
        This seems intense! I like it!

      • Mariajose December 5, 2012 at 5:31 pm #

        substitute the pull ups for jump ropes instead. I can actually only do assisted pull ups at the gym and jumping pull ups on a bar. that’s as far as my arm strength really goes lol
        But it is intense. It’s very fast paced. The ab workouts are the worst! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a5D6B7dz_RM

      • Jenny December 5, 2012 at 5:49 pm #

        That I can do!
        I have a jump rope that has not seen any action for almost 2 years…
        You clearing have a ton more upper body strength than me! You go girl!!!!

      • pursuitofhappieness December 6, 2012 at 7:23 pm #

        Basically you pick some exercises like jumping lunges, jumping squats, full pushups, burpees etc. Then you set your interval times for 50 sec on 10 sec off. So for the 50 sec you are doing the exercise keeping form as fast and hard as you can, the 10 s you rest. you go through it for maybe 30 min to 45 min. I pick about 8 to 10 exercises and go through the whole circuit about 4 to 5 times. Its a great cardio and endurance workout (and plyo if you add a lot of jumping exercises). Try it and let me know what you think!

      • Jenny December 6, 2012 at 8:00 pm #

        I have some time today before I run out of the house for most of the evening! This is my goal!! To get through 30minutes of Tabata! I will update tonight!!

      • pursuitofhappieness December 7, 2012 at 6:09 pm #

        Fantastic :)

  6. symanthaanne December 9, 2012 at 2:38 am #

    You will find by changing things up even with different exercises you’ll get that awesome “I just totally owned that routine” and while the sweat is dripping off you. Your body while get a jump start again to and will DEFINITELY respond. AWESOME STUFF! Keep up the good work.

    • Jenny December 9, 2012 at 4:11 pm #

      I sure hope so Samantha!!! The last thing I did to shake things up was start running:) That kick started my weight loss again, however a year in and I am now stuck… It will be interesting to see how things go the next few months:)

      • symanthaanne December 10, 2012 at 4:36 am #

        If you really are a running nutter I mean that in a good way. Try doing interval training. I do this a lot as it increases my fitness greatly. This will then transpire to increase your running as well. So for every 500m you run sprint for 20/30 meters. It is a little tweak to your running that no doubt will have you looking like a drowned rat. :)

      • Jenny December 10, 2012 at 6:31 pm #

        I am planning on doing more sprinting on the tracks! With the sidewalks and roads being so icy, my outdoor running is much more calculated and slow paced!! I really wish that they would put markers on the track to show how far you are into your run!
        Looking like a drowned rat is what I want!! =)!

      • symanthaanne December 10, 2012 at 9:32 pm #

        *THUMBS UP!!!* Can’t wait to hear how you go! Have a great festive season and new year!

      • Jenny December 11, 2012 at 12:12 am #

        =D Thanks!
        I will update as we go! It would be nice to get back into trail racing more prepared!
        Merry Christmas and Happy new year to you as well!

Leave a Reply

A Poorly Updated Travel Blog

slowly documenting travel and life

Running Under The Rain

a blog about a runner's life

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

Running On Healthy

Finding Balance, Happiness, and Health

Fit Is a Feminist Issue

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

The Vegan 8

8 Ingredient Vegan Recipes

Poetry In Motion

I'll stand before the Lord of Song / With nothing on my tongue but Hallelujah - Leonard Cohen

ChezSylvia

Where I unload my cooking notes...and other adventures

The Baker's Sheet

The baking and cooking adventures of a wannabe culinary student

high mileage mom

balancing family, fitness, a healthy lifestyle, and of course--running!

