Ye Old Santa Shuffle!

2 Dec

Yesterday was the 5km Santa Shuffle! It was a cold one for sure, with the windchill it felt like -25*C!

Tina and I arrived super early because we had wanted to make sure we could pick up our race bibs! We were literally the first people there I think! It was definitely a change, as opposed to(at least for myself) rolling up and the race starting in 30 seconds!!

The running room setting up

20121202-201703.jpg

Word on the street is that Edmonton had the most people registered for this event, upwards to 500 people attended!

Santa Shuffle Line

20121202-201717.jpg

Tina and I kept a pretty good pace, It was slippery and our lungs were burning from inhaling the cold air. Completing the race 30seconds before our goal of 35 minutes! The race was not time chipped, so we had to time it ourselves!

Santa Shuffle Time

At one point there was a little girl pushing a stroller with her dad, I said to Tina “we cant let that little girl beat us!”. Although, it was intermittent pushing, and her dad was wearing a Canadian Death Race Sweater. I had chalked it up to the little girl just having good fitness genes!

When arriving at the finish line, Santa was handing out our Shuffle medals!

Santa Shuffle Medal!

It was a huge event, they had a live band playing Christmas Carols, a free photo booth and free smokies after the race!

PhotoBooth

We even got our picture taken with the Salvation Army Mascot! What a great Charity to run for!!

Mascot

Lindt donated a truck full (literally) of chocolate advent calendars! Yummy! My friend informed me afterwards that these baby’s cost 13bucks at the store! Thanks Lindt!!

Calendar

It was a really fun up beat race! We were very excited to take part, and I think next year that reindeer headbands will be in order!!!

4 Responses to “Ye Old Santa Shuffle!”

  1. Mariajose December 3, 2012 at 10:40 pm #

    I’m running my first Christmas holiday race this month and I’m super excited. I am jealous of how much snow there is though, we don’t get that in Miami. But these look like so much fun, with people getting dressed up and all. Can’t wait!

    • Jenny December 4, 2012 at 12:11 am #

      Please dont be jealous, along with this amount of snow comes the cold to keep it on the ground lol.
      I would love to move somewhere warmer!!
      You must post lots of pictures from your run, I would love to see what a Christmas run looks like in Miami! =)

      • Mariajose December 4, 2012 at 1:36 pm #

        Will do! And haha, maybe we can trade homes for a day. I’m trying to move to the cold!

      • Jenny December 4, 2012 at 4:20 pm #

        I would love to trade homes for a day!
        Make sure you buy a Parka before you come up though! lol

Leave a Reply

A Poorly Updated Travel Blog

slowly documenting travel and life

Running Under The Rain

a blog about a runner's life

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

Running On Healthy

Finding Balance, Happiness, and Health

Fit Is a Feminist Issue

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

The Vegan 8

8 Ingredient Vegan Recipes

Poetry In Motion

I'll stand before the Lord of Song / With nothing on my tongue but Hallelujah - Leonard Cohen

ChezSylvia

Where I unload my cooking notes...and other adventures

The Baker's Sheet

The baking and cooking adventures of a wannabe culinary student

high mileage mom

balancing family, fitness, a healthy lifestyle, and of course--running!

