I hate the gym!

27 Nov

I really … really…truly hate the gym.

I have an annual pass to any City Of Edmonton Recreation facility, I have used it ….5 times. Today I had a gap of time between work and my doctors appoitment, so I went for a 5.5km run in Rundle Park and decided to pop into the newest recreation facility. It was beautiful, clean and very modern! Stocked with the newest cardio machines and state of the art weight machines.

I think back in college I was more into the gym scene, I had wanted to be a police officer and was pretty hardcore into working out. I had thought at that time, it was the only option for me.

Now that I am a mom (a busy mom at that) I dont have the that extra time it takes me to go get my workout in 10km away from my house.

I was only in the gym for half hour when I hit my threshhold:

10 min Eliptical, and random arm and leg machines, then freeweights.

So boring…There was no music, no T.V’s and all I could hear was this guy ranting about all the supplements people should be taking.

I like having someone to follow along too, someone who is ridiculous, totally upbeat and crazy. The only exception to the gym is fitness classes, I LOVE Zumba, spin class and circut training classes.

I do not need a trainer, a gym or a fitness plan to follow.  I am 100% completly self motivated and very proud of it!

No Sugar day 1 -partial success. 1 m&m cookie and my coworker made me some gluten free banana bread with chocolate chips (devoured that).

I will do my weighted squats when I get home from my part time job!

Jenny

8 Responses to “I hate the gym!”

  1. Mariajose November 30, 2012 at 7:06 am #

    lol this is the reason why I joined the gym with a friend, and even then I make sure that I take a treadmill with a tv on it and use my ipod too. During the weights I like to hold on to conversations as I’m working out. I work out at LA Fitness and thankfully, they have some nice workout background music and tvs on all around. I’d need some motivation if there wasn’t any other entertainment.

    • Jenny November 30, 2012 at 6:56 pm #

      No kidding! It’s a great idea to have a work out buddy! Specially at a gym ;)
      I was a little shocked that the newest gym here in the city didn’t have some TV’s hanging up or music playing! I guess that’s up to you to bring, lol. They do have hook ups on some of the equipment that allow you to charge your ipod though!
      In another gym, there are cardio machines that allow you to play various card games!!! I like to play solitaire while sweating hahah.
      I am happy that you have found a gym that has a great environment and that also has the benefits of being entertaining! =)

      • Mariajose December 1, 2012 at 5:12 am #

        see, I wouldn’t be able to do the whole solitaire thing lol I actually give myself a break during my runs every once in a while and it only last the duration of a bubble galaxy game on my iphone :o

      • Jenny December 1, 2012 at 5:16 am #

        Hahahah!! I have heard of that game!, I steer clear of iPhone games now because of my serious addiction I had to angry birds!
        The best one is the recumbent bike for solitaire, its a nice smooth ride and doesn’t make your vision all shaky like running does!
        Breaking during runs is a good idea, if you walk long enough for your heat rate to slow down then you kick it back up…its basically interval training!!

      • Mariajose December 1, 2012 at 5:23 am #

        Eek! Angry birds! I stayed away from that game after watching so many get so obsessed with it lol Playing the game has actually helped me realize when I hit my heart rate target without having to rely on technology and by the time I start back up again I’m good to go. :D

      • Jenny December 1, 2012 at 9:54 pm #

        Even my 3 year old got addicted to that game! We pulled the plug on the phone usage a while ago for him lol. That’s excellent that you have a way to figure out when you hit your target heart rate. I think thats part of my problem, I literally have no clue when I get there. I don’t think it’s very often now, because I am way more fit and haven’t changed up my routine to be more difficult!!

      • Mariajose December 2, 2012 at 4:14 am #

        I usually try to keep going till I feel that I can’t anymore. At that point I’m usually about 4 points over my HR. Give it a try. A lot of running magazines and websites recommend running with your gut and no technology. It completely changes your workout.

      • Jenny December 2, 2012 at 5:41 pm #

        I am going for broke the next few weeks!! ;) I will let ya know how it goes!!!

Leave a Reply

A Poorly Updated Travel Blog

slowly documenting travel and life

Running Under The Rain

a blog about a runner's life

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

Running On Healthy

Finding Balance, Happiness, and Health

Fit Is a Feminist Issue

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

The Vegan 8

8 Ingredient Vegan Recipes

Poetry In Motion

I'll stand before the Lord of Song / With nothing on my tongue but Hallelujah - Leonard Cohen

ChezSylvia

Where I unload my cooking notes...and other adventures

The Baker's Sheet

The baking and cooking adventures of a wannabe culinary student

high mileage mom

balancing family, fitness, a healthy lifestyle, and of course--running!

