Strides?

23 Nov

Today’s Vegan meal

A Falafel Salad!

Workout

The Santa Shuffle is next weekend and I need to work on my speed. So I did what any other person does and googled speed training workouts. I found hundreds of ideas and I noticed a lot of them refered to strides. I’ve been running for awhile now and I’ve never heard the term strides so after a little research I discovered that:

  • They are short, fast runs (between 50-200 meters)
  • They focus on quick leg turn over
  • They train your muscles to run fast and relax over a short distance
  • There used as a great warm up or warm down

That is exactly what I am looking to achieve so I did the following workout on the track:

It was tough! I loved it! There were so many people on the track so it felt like I was really racing.

Articles of Interest:

Question: Do you incorporate strides in your training?

Tina
TJ3URYJ5V52X

Leave a Reply

A Poorly Updated Travel Blog

slowly documenting travel and life

Running Under The Rain

a blog about a runner's life

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

Running On Healthy

Finding Balance, Happiness, and Health

FIT IS A FEMINIST ISSUE

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

The Vegan 8

8 Ingredient Vegan Recipes

Poetry In Motion

I'll stand before the Lord of Song / With nothing on my tongue but Hallelujah - Leonard Cohen

ChezSylvia

Where I unload my cooking notes...and other adventures

The Baker's Sheet

The baking and cooking adventures of a wannabe culinary student

high mileage mom

balancing family, fitness, a healthy lifestyle, and of course--running!

