Spicy Mashed Cauliflower

22 Nov

Well I came home to this after work

Dishes Nov 21

Yay, who doesn’t love washing dishes after a long day at work :(

After I cleaned up I checked the fridge for a vegan meal to make for my day 7 challenge.  The cauliflower was calling my name(Tina….Tina…eat me!). So I decided to make my favourite mashed cauliflower! It’s super easy and way healthier than mashed potatoes

Ingredients:

  • 1 Head of Cauliflower
  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • 4 cups of water
  • 2 teaspoons of olive oil
  • 1 teaspoons of curry
  • scant  of turmeric
  • scant of chilli powder
  • salt and pepper

I cut up all my head of cauliflower into florets and threw it in the crockpot with water and garlic and left it on high for 2 hours.

Califlower Nov 21

While that was cooking I headed out for a 4km run in the valley. http://connect.garmin.com/activity/245582649#.UK2YyYXzihE.email

It was cold, flat and slippery. Towards kilometer 3 I thru some stairs in the mix and got a good calf cramp which sucked, serves me right for not drinking any water or eating my banana today. I hobbled the last km home to find this waiting for me! Love you Ivan!!!

Nov 21 Wine

Before I could pour a glass of wine I had to finish making my dinner so I mashed the remaining ingredients together

cali3

Curried-Mashed-Sweet-Potatoes-1642

Now I can finally relax.

Question: What is your go to crockpot recipe?

Tina

5 Responses to “Spicy Mashed Cauliflower”

  1. blood, sweat, and... November 29, 2012 at 8:02 pm #

    I’ve always wanted to try mash cauliflower, but never have. Now I have a good reason too!

    • Tina November 29, 2012 at 8:57 pm #

      Hi Blood, Sweat and…

      Cauliflower is my go to vegetable! There is so many things you can do with it. Let me know how it turns out. Cheers!

  2. moderngirlnutrition December 7, 2012 at 2:02 pm #

    Dishes are the worst! But this looks amazing- thanks for the recipe:)

    • Tina December 7, 2012 at 5:30 pm #

      Hi moderngirlnutrition,

      Dishes are my arch nemesis! I would give my right arm for a dishwasher..lol Thank you so much for commenting. I love hearing from other bloggers and I am so glad you stopped by!

  3. Nathan December 11, 2012 at 11:34 pm #

    Great post, really enjoyed it!
    — Nathan

    http://www.bigconceptdesigns.com

Leave a Reply

A Poorly Updated Travel Blog

slowly documenting travel and life

Running Under The Rain

a blog about a runner's life

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

Running On Healthy

Finding Balance, Happiness, and Health

Fit Is a Feminist Issue

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

The Vegan 8

8 Ingredient Vegan Recipes

Poetry In Motion

I'll stand before the Lord of Song / With nothing on my tongue but Hallelujah - Leonard Cohen

ChezSylvia

Where I unload my cooking notes...and other adventures

The Baker's Sheet

The baking and cooking adventures of a wannabe culinary student

high mileage mom

balancing family, fitness, a healthy lifestyle, and of course--running!

