Thanks But No Thanks, Mr. Cab Driver

18 Nov

I have a fear, a horrible, undeniable, mostly unexplainable fear and distaste towards taking cabs. There is just something about getting into a car with a stranger that really makes me feel uneasy. I don’t mind so much if I am with another person, but even then, I get mad because a cab ride over 8km costs me an equivalent of a weeks worth of driving all over the city in my own car.

There have been countless times that I have been out back in my party days and walked home by myself because I refuse to take a cab alone.

I am thankful for my running today because, instead of walking, I can now run to places that are within running distance when I choose not to bring my car.

One time more recently, I went to a concert and after a few “pops” ran home from the nearest train station( well, walk/ran, because it was 1am and I was a little inebriated). While running, I was thinking “man if I had to walk this distance it would take me 4 hours!”. I should mention, while I was crossing a street a cab with its lights off, slowed down beside me and followed me for a minute (creepy!).

Last night we had a house warming party to attend, and I was going to be late because I had to babysit. When I finally got home at 9:30pm, I put on my running gear and ran the 4km to our friend’s new house. Being kid free for the night, (THANK YOU KRISTEN xoxox) Adam and I were able to have a few drinks together.

When we were finally ready to go home Adam called up a local cab company and within 20-45 minutes we were on our way home. Adding to my distaste towards taking a cab, the driver outright refused to take us through a drive through and suggested we go to a convenience store. I was in no mood to argue, so we just got dropped off at our corner store, picked up some really horrible food and walked the rest of the way home.  

This just doesn’t apply to when I am drinking by the way lol, I now run to get my hair cut, pick up bread and run random errands by my house!!

Question: Do you ever run places instead of driving?

Leave a Reply

A Poorly Updated Travel Blog

slowly documenting travel and life

Running Under The Rain

a blog about a runner's life

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

Running On Healthy

Finding Balance, Happiness, and Health

FIT IS A FEMINIST ISSUE

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

The Vegan 8

8 Ingredient Vegan Recipes

Poetry In Motion

I'll stand before the Lord of Song / With nothing on my tongue but Hallelujah - Leonard Cohen

ChezSylvia

Where I unload my cooking notes...and other adventures

The Baker's Sheet

The baking and cooking adventures of a wannabe culinary student

high mileage mom

balancing family, fitness, a healthy lifestyle, and of course--running!

