Gluten Free?

14 Nov

*Disclaimer: I am NOT a medical professional!*

There are so many articles and “reasons” to go gluten free, and in the same breathe so many counter articles saying the opposite. Backed up by professionals, endorsed by celebrities, scientists, the pharmaceutical company, the list goes on and on.

I don’t know what to believe, however if you follow the Canada’s Food Guide there is a balance of all the food groups including grains. Grains are painted as being natural and a part of a healthy diet.

Recently I was diagnosed with Colitis (an autoimmune disease); to my surprise the doctor did not give me any information when I left the hospital as to what I was up against.

I decided after some extensive google-ing (yes, I know it is not the best way to get medical advice) that I was going to try and go gluten free for a while to see if it would help some of my symptoms.

It has been a month and the with drawl headaches have subsided, and I have noticed that my stomach is a little less crampy then the 7 weeks leading up to the diagnoses. It has been easier than I thought to go gluten free, with the amount of products now being produced to cater to people who choose to go gluten free or have too due to similar diseases (ie. Celiac).

The trouble with any sort of IBD (Inflammatory Bowel Disease) is that people also recommend going sugar, dairy and caffeine free as well. I have cut out the morning coffees but am having a heck of a time with dairy and sugar. I will admit I had a ‘caffeine free” coffee the other day, and after 3 weeks of zero coffee…I can say with certainty that I could feel the coffee going through my body and instantly did not feel well.

It is still very early, too early to tell if my diet changes will help keep the colitis under control. I bet most of my life will be trial and error! Since I am stuck with it, I will just deal with the best I can!!

Jenny

Question: Is there a reason for you to go gluten free?

Leave a Reply

A Poorly Updated Travel Blog

slowly documenting travel and life

Running Under The Rain

a blog about a runner's life

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

Running On Healthy

Finding Balance, Happiness, and Health

Fit Is a Feminist Issue

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

The Vegan 8

8 Ingredient Vegan Recipes

Poetry In Motion

I'll stand before the Lord of Song / With nothing on my tongue but Hallelujah - Leonard Cohen

ChezSylvia

Where I unload my cooking notes...and other adventures

The Baker's Sheet

The baking and cooking adventures of a wannabe culinary student

high mileage mom

balancing family, fitness, a healthy lifestyle, and of course--running!

