No Beef…beef??

13 Nov

Admittedly I am very flighty, and not ashamed of it! The other day I was shopping and just randomly looking for things to try that were new. I came across the organic/gluten free frozen section and saw a package of what I thought were organic beef cubes. Just heat in a pan and serve (SAWEET!).

Once I got home, I had looked again at the package and noticed that they were BEEFLESS TIPS. What on earth are those? Its either beef or not beef, how can something be labeled beefless?

Image

I decided to give the beefless tips a try, and to my surprise they actually kind of tasted like beef. The texture was a little off, but since its not real meat my expectations were low. I cooked up some quinoa (boiled in chicken broth) to go with my beefless tips and it was an excellent side dish. The plate could have used some color (grilled veggies of some sort) but it was late and I am a very lazy cooker.

I guess if I had read the package PROPERLY, I would not have given it a chance. I will purchase these again, and I know that Tina wants to try them too (since she is vegetarian). Maybe Tina and I will get together soon and create a delicious dish with these and get back to you with it!

Leave a Reply

A Poorly Updated Travel Blog

slowly documenting travel and life

Running Under The Rain

a blog about a runner's life

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

Running On Healthy

Finding Balance, Happiness, and Health

Fit Is a Feminist Issue

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

The Vegan 8

8 Ingredient Vegan Recipes

Poetry In Motion

I'll stand before the Lord of Song / With nothing on my tongue but Hallelujah - Leonard Cohen

ChezSylvia

Where I unload my cooking notes...and other adventures

The Baker's Sheet

The baking and cooking adventures of a wannabe culinary student

high mileage mom

balancing family, fitness, a healthy lifestyle, and of course--running!

