Remembrance Day

11 Nov

So I write this a little jaded and drunk, but! I have to vent.

Every year, I make sure to pause and remember the veterans that have served and the soldiers who are currently serving for our country.

 Last year I made a point to park just before 11am to listen to a local radio station play some audio clips from the war. The idea is right at 11am, they would observe a minute of silence by having “dead air” on the radio. For some odd reason I flipped to another station (with dead air) then back to that original radio station. Now expecting it to still be dead air, I only heard John Lenin’s imagine playing. While I believe this is a fitting song, I was a little shocked that the radio station was playing anything at all.

 Adam said that maybe I lost track of time, and the minute of silence was over. I was certain that it wasn’t, and for weeks complained that it was rude to play anything during that minute.

 Today, I ran to the store just before 11am and intentionally put on that same radio station to listen and see if they would respect the moment of silence. I parked and listened very intentionally, NOPE I was right all along, After the audio clip of some war stories and the “let us observe a minute of silence” immediately following was Imagine by John Lenin. Okay I get it, very fitting!! But ease into it after a minute of silence!!!

While shopping in the store, around 11:15 an announcement was made asking all shoppers to pause and remember, as I stood there with my head bowed, people whizzed by filling their carts with stuff totally ignoring the request. I was in shock, and very saddened by the lack of disrespect for this request.

 I watched this video last year, and the concept is the same. Please watch it if you have few minutes. It is beautiful, and could not be further than the truth:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2kX_3y3u5Uo

Please respect our soldiers and veterans, it is the least we can do.

 

 

Leave a Reply

A Poorly Updated Travel Blog

slowly documenting travel and life

Running Under The Rain

a blog about a runner's life

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

Running On Healthy

Finding Balance, Happiness, and Health

Fit Is a Feminist Issue

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

The Vegan 8

8 Ingredient Vegan Recipes

Poetry In Motion

I'll stand before the Lord of Song / With nothing on my tongue but Hallelujah - Leonard Cohen

ChezSylvia

Where I unload my cooking notes...and other adventures

The Baker's Sheet

The baking and cooking adventures of a wannabe culinary student

high mileage mom

balancing family, fitness, a healthy lifestyle, and of course--running!

