5 Things I Must Bring on a Run

8 Nov

Over the past year I’ve run many miles, different terrains, all seasons and  temperatures. These are the 5 things I can’t run without:

1.   Garmin Forerunner 10 GPS Watch

Garmin

I love this watch its easy to use and doesn’t have a ton of features but it has exactly want I need. It shows time, distance, pace and also keeps record of your personal bests. This watch also lets you download all your runs onto Garmin Connect so you can see your route in more detail and share your runs with others. The best thing about this watch is it’s Virtual Pacer Function which allows you to enter your goal pace and it beeps at you if your behind pace which is great for motivation.

2. Given Arm Wallet

given

Most of my clothing doesn’t have pockets so the arm wallet has saved me from losing my keys on countless occasions.

3. Blistex Lip Balm

Blistex

Edmonton can be quite windy, blistex saved me from wind burn in the winter and sun burn in the summer. On long run days when I start getting dehydrated my lips are the first to dry out and blistex stops me from getting cotton mouth.

4.  Sweaty band headbands

band

I have side bangs and they need to be pulled back at all times while I run. There is nothing more annoying than a piece of hair in your eyes. Sweaty bands use velvet to hold your hair back and man oh man do they work.

5. ipod Shuffle

imagesCAPM1R7A

Music is a great way to get pumped up for your workout, they also come in handy when you have to run 10 plus kilometers and need some entertainment.

Question: What do you bring on your runs?

Tina

6 Responses to “5 Things I Must Bring on a Run”

  1. Mariajose November 30, 2012 at 7:02 am #

    I cannot go on a run without my phone. Unfortunately I don’t have a GPS watch yet, so my phone functions as a GPS tracker, my entertainment with Pandora and well, my phone as an emergency. Also, depending on the run, I use an app to help me train for a 10K. I don’t use the app on easy or quick runs. Now that I am increasing my miles I think I might have to add a bottle of water to this, even if it’s a the gym. I also need one of those arm wallets.

    • Tina November 30, 2012 at 6:32 pm #

      I didn’t get a GPS watch until recently, I actually used the Nike+running app on my iphone and it was fanatasic! Which apps are you using?

      • Mariajose December 1, 2012 at 5:14 am #

        I use MapMyRun. It works great but I used it on my last race and realized that my 10K was actually about 6.7 on the app so I think I need to switch to RunKeeper which I had tried a while back. I used the Nike+ app once with my Nike+ shoes but wasn’t too much of a fan and never used it again.

      • Tina December 3, 2012 at 9:30 pm #

        Wow, I can’t believe MapMyRun is off that much crazy. There is also miCoach, smartrunner,endomondo,runtastic GPS and Personal Running Trainer that are all free. I didn’t like Nike+app either, I lost the tracker instantly and I spend hours digging threw the grass trying to find it..lol

      • Mariajose December 3, 2012 at 10:17 pm #

        I downloaded RunKeeper last night. Going to try it out at my next race to see if it gives me the correct distance. Otherwise I’ll try the ones you mentioned. Only heard of two of them so I’ll check them out. And well, the reason I tried it was because I had the Nike+ shoes and realized thats how the sensor thing worked. Did you at least find the tracker? lol

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sweaty Band Giveaway! « We Shall Have Pie - November 28, 2012

    […] I mentioned in my post 5 Things I Must Bring on a Run , I absolutely love Sweaty bands! I’ve been addicted to them for over a year now and there a must […]

Leave a Reply

A Poorly Updated Travel Blog

slowly documenting travel and life

Running Under The Rain

a blog about a runner's life

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

Running On Healthy

Finding Balance, Happiness, and Health

Fit Is a Feminist Issue

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

The Vegan 8

8 Ingredient Vegan Recipes

Poetry In Motion

I'll stand before the Lord of Song / With nothing on my tongue but Hallelujah - Leonard Cohen

ChezSylvia

Where I unload my cooking notes...and other adventures

The Baker's Sheet

The baking and cooking adventures of a wannabe culinary student

high mileage mom

balancing family, fitness, a healthy lifestyle, and of course--running!

