Snow day!! or as Tina just called it Snowpocolypse!

7 Nov

 Normally, on a good day it takes me about twenty minutes to work. Today! There was traffic backed up in every single direction that I could have possibly taken. In just under an hour I rolled up to my job, but not with out almost getting into 2 accidents, seeing a car that had crashed into someone’s backyard, a car with a wheel off its axel and pulling over for 2 ambulances.

 We always laugh here in Edmonton when we hear about various cities “shutting down” due to a snow storm of this magnitude. For example our neighbor to the west, Vancouver. We act like we can handle ANY sort of weather that comes our way. The truth is, we cant!!!! I am not going to lie, I don’t own snow tires (I cant afford to purchase them). I do however have all season tires which are better than regular summer tires. My car has ABS which in some situations is okay but other situations not so much. People STILL speed on streets that are ice ridden because they drive a jacked up truck with snow tires, disregarding those who don’t. 

 I really wish our city would recognize that maybe on some level it is safer to stay home on a day like this. I can not imagine what the roads will be like driving home! It went from virtually clear to this in 4 hours!

 I work in a school, so for giggles I was going to jump out of our back exit and quickly make a snow angel and take a picture of it while on my break. Just when I was about to do it, a kid runs into the class room and I asked him to take a picture of me! So he did!! How nice =) by the way, it has been 15 years since I made a snow angel!

Question: Do you make your own snow day?

Leave a Reply

A Poorly Updated Travel Blog

slowly documenting travel and life

Running Under The Rain

a blog about a runner's life

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

Running On Healthy

Finding Balance, Happiness, and Health

Fit Is a Feminist Issue

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

The Vegan 8

8 Ingredient Vegan Recipes

Poetry In Motion

I'll stand before the Lord of Song / With nothing on my tongue but Hallelujah - Leonard Cohen

ChezSylvia

Where I unload my cooking notes...and other adventures

The Baker's Sheet

The baking and cooking adventures of a wannabe culinary student

high mileage mom

balancing family, fitness, a healthy lifestyle, and of course--running!

