“I don’t have time to work out”

6 Nov

I never really understood that term; tons of people tell me that they just don’t have the time to work out. They are always surprised when I tell them about my hectic schedule and how I manage to get in 3-5 workouts in a week and have done so for 3 years now.

One of the biggest obstacles for me is when I work 2 jobs in one day. Getting up early is not feasible because I know that I won’t make it till 10:00pm  and working out at 10:30pm is also a pain in the butt.  On days like today when I know that I don’t have much “time” I use my lunch break! It’s only half hour, however I can either squeeze in a 2.5km walk up and down a giant hill or go for a beautiful 5km run around my work. I start off on the side walk and end up in a gorgeous valley with tons of bridges and trees. Ending with a giant set of stairs!  Now I must disclose that this run on a good sunny snow and ice free day takes half an hour, but today I was 10 minutes late do to the sheer icy-ness of the trail and the head wind I encountered while running towards the trail. So like a good runner, I obeyed the signage!

I love days like this; I get out of the chaos that is my regular day job, breathe in the fresh air and just get lost in the beauty that is this world!  

Heading down                                                                   Whoa! check out the wind!!!

Sorry about the cheesy paint job, but I felt the need to really accentuate the harsh head wind I was up against!!!

Co-workers tell me I am crazy, that I should just relax and eat. They often do not think of the benefits that come along with getting in some exercise and fresh air in the midst of a chaotic day. I often feel more rejuvenated after a run or a walk then sitting in a dimly lit staff room!

Do not worry, I still eat! I can not go more that 3 hours without feeling the need to mow down on something. I usually just do it before or after my run, because lets face it…most of us have some downtime at work, and during that downtime is when I eat my lunch… even if it is interrupted a few times.

On my runs I often run into things or people that make me smile! Today I saw a GT racer!!! I loved riding those things when I was a kid! It brought me back 15 years or so!!! I felt sorry for the little racer as I left it behind, hoping that the kid who owns it will come back to get it!

Question: Do you work out on your lunch breaks?

Leave a Reply

A Poorly Updated Travel Blog

slowly documenting travel and life

Running Under The Rain

a blog about a runner's life

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

Running On Healthy

Finding Balance, Happiness, and Health

FIT IS A FEMINIST ISSUE

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

The Vegan 8

8 Ingredient Vegan Recipes

Poetry In Motion

I'll stand before the Lord of Song / With nothing on my tongue but Hallelujah - Leonard Cohen

ChezSylvia

Where I unload my cooking notes...and other adventures

The Baker's Sheet

The baking and cooking adventures of a wannabe culinary student

high mileage mom

balancing family, fitness, a healthy lifestyle, and of course--running!

