First EVER snow trail race

5 Nov

Saucony Trail Race Series #6

 Have you ever watched that Canadian winter police car chase commercial? The one where the cop and the “bad guy” are both stuck in the snow and their tires are spinning so the end up trying to push their cars but they still don’t move.  That was us on the weekend!

 Last winter I ran with little complaints about ice and snow, but that was on a sidewalk! The trail race we entered this past Saturday was done on an actual trail, that, in winter is converted into a cross country ski trail.

At times, going up hill literally felt like we were going in reverse. It is hard to press on when you are unable to maintain steady footing and keep a good pace. My heart was pounding out of my chest, my breathing was heavy and I just kept wishing that it was over! I even told all the volunteers along the way that I must have been crazy when I signed up for this race. We finished with alright times, and I am convinced that Tina got lost! Either that or I accidently took a shortcut! With only 10 or so people racing, there was noone around really at any given time. With the ground all white and poorly marked trails, I could see how it would be easy to stray off course.

 Oh I should also mention that this was a race series.. and being the last race it was full of a bunch of elite cross country runners. We are not elite, far from elite! In fact we are very beginner when it comes to snow trail racing! These other runners were leaping through the snow just like a deer running for its life! I am sure, at least myself, that I most likley represented a wounded hippo trudging through the snow.  

5 peaks trail racing hosts a handful of trail snowshoe races through out the winter season. We are planning on signing up for them! But if this race is any indication on how we will feel during the snow shoe races… I am a little intimidated!

Leave a Reply

A Poorly Updated Travel Blog

slowly documenting travel and life

Running Under The Rain

a blog about a runner's life

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

Running On Healthy

Finding Balance, Happiness, and Health

FIT IS A FEMINIST ISSUE

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

The Vegan 8

8 Ingredient Vegan Recipes

Poetry In Motion

I'll stand before the Lord of Song / With nothing on my tongue but Hallelujah - Leonard Cohen

ChezSylvia

Where I unload my cooking notes...and other adventures

The Baker's Sheet

The baking and cooking adventures of a wannabe culinary student

high mileage mom

balancing family, fitness, a healthy lifestyle, and of course--running!

