Movember

1 Nov

Since yesterday was Halloween and we were busy handing out candy and trick or treating, by the time Parker went to bed I was way too tired to get in my work out. I had even CHANGED into my workout gear with hopes that motivation would find me….major fail. I decided that I  would wake up at some ridiculous time and fit in my missed work out then.

5:55am rolled around, and I reluctanlty got out of bed..changed BACK into my work out gear, fired up p90x ab work out video and did a quick 16min workout. I will do the chest and back tonight!

What does Movember have to do with this?  Well it’s November first, November is the official month for the awarness of prostate cancer. It has become a world wide event. Men grow their mustaches proudly for the month of November and raise money for cancer research.

ImageI am not particularly a huge fan of the MO. Adam does not raise money, but he does grow a mo every November is support of the cause. I noticed this morning that Adam already has a 2 or 3 day stubble going on…NOT FAIR! He gets all scratchy and because his hair is light and fine, it grows patchy and he kind of looks dirty. Parker was born mid November, and I remember my biggest worry was that Adam was going to look funny for our first pictures with Parker. Well I was half right, here is us in the hospital:

I must say that I do enjoy some of the activities and fundraisers throughout the month on November! Last year I attended the Movember gala with Jeff and Adam. We dressed up as members of the occupy movement…. A little dicey but we were lazy. This is the same party that Adam had won the “lamest mo award” a few years ago. Because his hair is so fine and blonde, he now uses mascara to accentuate his mustache to prove that he actually grew something. I look forward to attending the curling fundraiser again as well as the gala! Even if Adam looks a little funny, its for a great cause.  

So if your man wants to grow a stache, I say let it go. But only for  November, after that…your allowed to complain a little if its not your thing ;)

Happy Movember All!

Leave a Reply

A Poorly Updated Travel Blog

slowly documenting travel and life

Running Under The Rain

a blog about a runner's life

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

Running On Healthy

Finding Balance, Happiness, and Health

FIT IS A FEMINIST ISSUE

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

The Vegan 8

8 Ingredient Vegan Recipes

Poetry In Motion

I'll stand before the Lord of Song / With nothing on my tongue but Hallelujah - Leonard Cohen

ChezSylvia

Where I unload my cooking notes...and other adventures

The Baker's Sheet

The baking and cooking adventures of a wannabe culinary student

high mileage mom

balancing family, fitness, a healthy lifestyle, and of course--running!

